Coffee and Cinnamon Low-Carb Muffins. (Updated)

This morning my baking instinct kicked in again and I was craving for some muffins. Low-carb ones that is. Obviously getting fresh muffins, much less low-carb ones, at 6am would be more than difficult. So I went out to the nearby Tesco Express and bought myself two packs of almond meal. I scored the recipe from here. The last time I baked it they looked plain so I decided to add in Instant Coffee and a healthy dosage of Cinnamon which smelled lovely at 7am in the morning! When I first bit into it, I did not think they were sweet enough so I spread Peanut Butter and No-added Sugar Jam on it. After a while I was looking at the naked muffins and decided to dress up them up. So I made some chocolate frosting and dipped it in coconut.

Now which do you think looks nicer?

Recipe for “Chocolate frosting” after the jump…

To achieve the “Chocolate frosting”, I was determined to make it as low carbs as possible.

1. Heat 125ml Half Fat Thick Cream (low in carbs VERY high in fat) in a saucepan over low heat and keep stirring.

2. Add in 7 heaped tbsps Splenda and 1 tbsp Vanilla Essence. Keep stirring

3. Remove from heat before it boils and using a whisk, stir and add 25g chocolate (I used Lindt 99% Cacao, extremely bitter) at the same time.

4 . Stir mixture until it cools and thickens.

5. Dip top of Muffin into cooled Chocolate mixture

6. In a bowl filled with dessicated coconut, dip the chocolate topped muffin in bowl. Shake off excess.

7. Leave aside to cool.

4 thoughts on “Coffee and Cinnamon Low-Carb Muffins. (Updated)

  1. pink bowl baker says:

    Dressed is best! How did you make the low carb chocolate frosting tho? Is there a recipe you can share? The muffins would be great with your cinnamon addition with Splenda and cinnamon sprinkled atop too!

  2. thatconomist says:

    Hey Pink Bowl Baker. Thank you for your comment and visiting my site. I have placed up a recipe for the simple chocolate cream. Hope you enjoy and yes I will bear in mind to sprinkle Splenda and cinnamon on the top the next time, kind of like Snickerdoodle Muffins.

  3. thatconomist says:

    Hey Sarah, thank you for the comment. I read your blog religiously! And yes, after frosting those muffs, they do look like cupcakes now. Killed two birds with a stone. ;)

Leave a Reply

