Oreo Cupcakes

I baked again this afternoon to pass the time. Another flavour I was keen to ‘conquer’ was Oreo Cupcakes because I love cookies and cream.

So anyway I got the recipe from here and halfed the quantity because after yesterday’s little incident, there is no way I am going to bake 42 cupcakes…

Oreo Cupcakes (24 cupcakes)
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
2 tsp vanilla extract
3 egg whites, room temperature
3/4 cup milk
1 1/4 cups crushed oreo cookies (10 cookies)

Preheat the oven to 350F. Line 24 muffin cups with baking cups.
In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.
In a large bowl, cream together the sugar and the butter until light and fluffy. Beat in vanilla extract, then beat in the egg whites one at a time, making sure each is fully incorporated before adding the next.
Working in 4 or 5 additions, alternately add the flour mixture and the milk to the sugar mixture. Keep the mixer on low speed while you do this. When just combined, stir in the crushed oreos.
Spoon batter evenly into muffin tins, filling each about 2/3 full.
Bake for 15-18 minutes at 350F, until a toothpick comes out clean (a few chocolate cookie crumbs are fine, but not batter).
Cool completely on a wire rack before frosting.
Store in an airtight container if not serving the same day.

 

Quick Vanilla Buttercream Frosting
1 stick butter, room temperature
4 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla paste

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and beat, with an electric mixer, until frosting is creamy, 3-5 minutes.

Frost cupcakes with frosting using a butter knife or offset spatula. Add as much or as little frosting as desired. If making oreo cupcakes, garnish with additional chunks of Oreo.

This cupcake was extremely sweet and I tried to “create” an element of surprise by placing one cookie on the bottom to create a base. However the baking paper kept getting stuck to it and I ended up throwing away quite a bit of the cookie.

The texture was also extremely different from the Red Velvet yesterday. It was not as moist and was much more chewy. My housemate also preferred the Vanilla Cream Cheese Frostings.

Anyhow more pictures because I am one of few words..

Little fresh oreo babies from the oven.

I love using concentrated vanilla paste in my frostings.

9 thoughts on “Oreo Cupcakes

  1. They look lovely! What a yummy idea….

    Found you through tastespotting and love the blog! Your cakes look really delicious – and it sounds like you had fun making them too!

  2. Hey My Sweet and Saucy, thank you for your comment and dropping by. Glad you enjoyed looking at them.

    Hey thewench, thank you for your comment and dropping by too. It is indeed quite fun baking those lovely cupcakes but I can not wait to try out different types of cakes. :)

  3. This is a beautiful thing. I’ve never before thought of the Oreo as a potential cupcake flavor. Now I must try it!

  4. Hi, have you baked these again recently? If so have you changed the number of egg whites or added more milk? I am going to try Dorie’s perfect party cake recipe for the cupcakes w/cookies mixed in and see if that works. I’ll let you know.

  5. Wow, these cupcakes are amazing!! Are you still in Copenhagen? I would love to get a baking lesson from you!!

    1. Hi, thank you for the message. Unfortunately I am no longer in Copenhagen and there is no need to learn baking from me. I highly suggest watching videos on Martha Stewart’s website. It is how I prep before every baking. Thanks again! xxx

Leave a Reply

