Hummus (An Analysis on the Process)

For the past few weeks I changed my eating habits in the morning and replaced wholegrain toasts (because I was eating 8 at one shot and getting fat) with tomatoes and supermarket-bought hummus. The next thing I knew, the digits on the weighing scale were decreasing fairly rapidly so I was really happy. Then it got me thinking about making my own hummus. I mean, how tough could it be? It was just chickpeas, tahini paste, olive oil, lemon juice, salt and water. Did not sound like Rocket Science to me. So I gamely dared myself to make Hummus, without a recipe (not a bright idea by the way). This Hummus turned out to be difficult, so much so that I might actually refrain from eating hummus again. Although I did learn a couple of things so keep reading if you are interested to know more…

First of all, those chickpeas were deceiving. I bought a 500g pack of dried chickpeas that needed to be soak overnight and it was relatively cheap. It looked so small to me but the next day had expanded rapidly. I was left with a big pot of chickpeas and enough hummus to feed Ethiopia.

Second, a lot of oil was required to achieve a smooth consistency. Which was depressing because even though it was olive oil, oil is still oil and truckloads quantity equals to truckloads of fat. In fact whilst I was blitzing them in the food processor. I was getting increasingly afraid the more oil I added. I tried water and tahini paste to get the smooth consistency but it just would not work as well as oil. 😦 This experiment only kept me thinking about how much oil those in the supermarkets have. Furthermore when I left the hummus alone for a few minutes, it turned dry really quickly.

Second, go easy with the tahini paste. Too much made the whole thing taste very sesame-sy…

Third, lemons are godsend. I squeezed out two just to get rid of the tahini taste…

Fourth, always blitz the chickpeas finely first. If you have never made hummus before, trust me on this point. For my second batch, which I added sun-dried tomatoes, I had greedily placed the chickpeas with everything only to achieve crunchy hummus.

Finally, there is a major difference between fresh hummus and those from the shops. There is an unbelievable taste of freshness and I could literally taste my panic and joy.

Leave a Reply

