[New York] Magnolia Bakery, Greenwich Village

Hi everyone the past week I have been in New York City eating up a storm. I have about 500+ photos of food alone and I am well excited to post them all up.

I also thought the first post of my gastronomy experience in New York City would have to be the world famous Magnolia Bakery on Bleecker Street. Altogether I tried 18 cupcakes over the course of the week from 7 different bakeries and they are all tasted different. Last Thursday evening at around 9pm, on my first day in NYC, my friend brought me round the block where she lives to Magnolia (how convenient!) I found it strange they were still open until I realised they close at 11.30pm everyday! Amazing! I had a Vanilla Cupcake with Chocolate Almond Buttercream icing that was simply fabulous. People who say Magnolia is over-rated have no idea what they are talking about. The staff were also real friendly! Though it was 9pm, there were still about 10 people in the bakery getting their cupcake fix. The shop was quite small and I could not help but exclaim, there are so many people to which my friend replied, this is little, there is usually a long queue.

Anyhow here comes the photos.

nyc-2008-003.jpg

(Please click on the picture for a clearer view)

And for those that have never seen the inside of Magnolia before…

nyc-2008-004.jpg

nyc-2008-005.jpg

nyc-2008-009.jpg

(Please click on the pictures for a clearer view)

On Sunday I went back to Magnolia at 11am and thank god there were not many people around. I saw they had Red Velvet Cupcakes and I happily helped myself to one and two others. O.k. so I ate 3 cupcakes at one go that morning. I had such a sugar high after that, that when I met my friend at 11.30am, I could not stop giggling.

nyc-2008-244.jpg

nyc-2008-251.jpgnyc-2008-254.jpg

(Please click on the picture for a clearer view)

The cupcake on the left is obviously their Red Velvet Cupcake which was pure divine. The blue icing cupcake is their Vanilla Cupcake with Vanilla Icing and their Chocolate Cupcake with Vanilla. I thought the one the Vanilla cupcake I tried a few nights before tasted better. It was more fresh. This tasted as if it had been baked very early in the morning and left aside. The icing had formed a crust and I absolutely detest that.

I like Magnolia second best. The cupcakes were light and spongy and the icing so creamy and not too sweet.

Leave a Reply

