Guess What I Baked Today?

It is a cupcake and it is red…. Red Velvet Cupcakes with Vanilla Cream Cheese Frosting!

Warning. Many photos of my little creation after the jump.

I was so incredibly bored yesterday as my exams were over so I decided to bake to pass the time. It was a good idea as it took up my whole afternoon. As I browsed Tastespotting for ideas, I could not decide if I wanted to bake a cake or cupcake but I was very sure I wanted it to be Red Velvet. First of all, the colours drives me crazy. The red cupcake contrast with the white frosting makes my head spin. Furthermore I wanted an easy recipe. So after searching high and low, I found this. Magnolia Bakery’s Red Velvet Cupcakes. I heart Magnolia Bakery. When I visited New York during my Easter break, it was my second favourite bakery (the first being Sugar Sweet Sunshine.) I also wanted Vanilla Cream Cheese Frosting so I got the recipe from here. Anyway I needed a beater and purchased the cheapest from Argos which came with a large bucket and may I say, godsend too. Bought my ingredients and set about baking. First the recipes and the changes I made.

Magnolia Bakery’s Red Velvet Cupcakes

3 1/2 cups cake flour (not self-rising) Not being able to find cake flour, I read online that I could substitute each cup with 7/8 cup of all purpose flour and 2tbsp of cornflour.
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
2 ยฝ cups sugar
3 large eggs, at room temperature
6 tbsp red food coloring
3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups buttermilk No buttermilk in the supermarket, I also read on line I could substitute every cup with 1 cup whole milk and 2 tbsp lemon juice.
1 1/2 tsp cider vinegar I used malt vinegar instead.
1 1/2 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 350ยฐF. Grease and lightly flour 2 cupcake pans (24 cupcakes).

To make the batter: In a small bowl, sift the cake flour and set aside. In a large bowl, on the medium speed of an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugar until very light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. In a small bowl, whisk together the red food coloring, cocoa, and vanilla. Add to the batter and beat well.

In a measuring cup, stir the salt into the buttermilk. Add to the batter in three parts alternating with the flour. With each addition, beat until the ingredients are incorporated, but do not overbeat. In a small bowl, stir together the cider vinegar and baking soda. Add to the batter and mix well. Using a rubber spatula, scrape down the batter in the bowl, making sure the ingredients are well blended and the batter is smooth.

Divide the batter among the prepared pans. Arrange the oven racks in the upper and lower thirds of the oven and bake the cupcakes, switching positions of the pans halfway through baking, until a tester comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Cool the cupcakes in the pan 10 minutes, then remove from the pan and cool completely on a rack before icing.

Cream Cheese Frosting, adapted from The Gourmet Cookbook (I decided to use this recipe instead as it seemed simpler.)
8 oz cream cheese (no need to soften)
5 Tbsp butter, softened
2 tsp vanilla I used Vanilla Paste instead.
2 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Cream cream cheese, butter, and vanilla on med-high speed. Sift the powdered sugar after measuring. Add the powdered sugar to the bowl in batches, beating on low until just combined and then beating on high until desired consistency is reached. For a stiffer icing, add more powdered sugar.

Anyhow here are my results. The recipe said to make 24, I ended up with enough batter to make 42 (!!!)

What I loved most about making this cupcake was the red batter.

Fresh cupcakes from the oven.

Cooling the babies.

A closer look at what they looked like.

More cupcakes waiting to be frosted.

Have you ever seen so much cupcakes in your life before??

A little creation by my housemate, J.

More!

Waiting to be eaten. YUMMY!!

A little something from my housemate, J.

One thought on “Guess What I Baked Today?

Leave a Reply

