Carrot Cupcakes

I am soo happy! I successfully made Carrot Cupcakes this afternoon. Actually I made it twice. This first time, it was a complete failure. And I sat around thinking about it for an hour before I realised I was not ready to give up and started all over again. The second time I made a few adjustments and the cupcakes came out beautifully! I am extremely happy and my friends absolutely loved it too! Anyhow I got my recipe from here but I am still going to post it here nonetheless.

Carrot Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

Makes 12 perfect cupcakes.

½ cup caster sugar

¼ cup brown sugar (I used light brown)

½ cup vegetable oil

2 large eggs

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup plain flour

¾ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

½ teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 ½ cups grated carrots, around 4 medium carrots (Please use paper towels to pat your grated carrots dry before adding into the batter. The moisture might keep it from rising.)

¼ cup pecans, chopped

Cream Cheese Frosting

125g cream cheese, room temperature

30g unsalted butter, softened

2 cups icing sugar, sifted

6 pecans, cut in half

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Grease or line with papers a 12-hole muffin tin.
  2. In a large bowl, beat together the sugars and oil on medium to high speed until combined. Add the eggs one by one and mix until smooth (Mixture should be gooey and sticky). Add the vanilla extract.
  3. Sift all the dry ingredients into the bowl and beat on low speed until just combined. Please do not over beat. Add the grated carrots and pecans (Do not beat this in, just stir it around.)
  4. (By now your mixture should still be gooey and sticky. If it is runny, I suggest you bin the whole thing and try again.) Divide the batter between the muffin pans and bake for around 20 minutes or until golden brown and springy to touch. Allow to cool.
  5. For the frosting, mix the cream cheese, butter, icing sugar and until smooth. Frost the cooled cupcakes and top with the pecan halves.

O.k. now let me show you my first and second attempt.

My first attempt is on the right. As you can see, the cupcake did not rise. You don’t have to be Nigella Lawson to know this is wrong…. It turned out my fresh carrots were too moist and prevented the cupcakes from rising. So the second time around, I took 4 kitchen towels and squeezed all the moisture from the grated carrots and cupcakes rose so beautifully. I nearly cried whilst standing in front of the oven.

Carrot Cupcakes fresh off the oven.

Topped with Cream Cheese frostings.

Topped with Pecans!

What it looks like on the inside.

The cupcakes were not too moist nor dry and extremely spongy! Too good to be true!

Oh and look what came through the post today.

My new Tala measuring cup and Alan Greenspan’s book. :))

The Tala measuring cup is different because…

See inside Tala? It has clear markings for measuring different types of ingredients. Such as…

This has only made my baking adventures so much more fun and easy! :)))

2 thoughts on “Carrot Cupcakes

  1. Hello there,

    I’m glad the cupcakes worked the second time around. I don’t have to squeeze out the moisture from the carrots when I make them and I find that the water content in the carrots make the cupcakes extremely moist, but I’m glad you changed it to suit you and that you enjoyed them.

    They look great!

    – Linda

Leave a Reply

