Egg-free, butter-free, milk-free Chocolate Cupcakes

Recently my new oven arrived and I started baking up a storm. Cupcakes to be specific. However my father who is on a very strict diet now complained he was unable to eat my little creations as it contained butter and eggs – both of which are extremely bad for the heart. So I went online and on Martha Stewart, I found a recipe from Divvies Bakery in America. The recipe looked easy and ingredients were so easy to obtain. Just measure out, dump everything into the mixing bowl and beat it all together. The batter would be much runnier than usual because there are high quantities of water in the recipe but the cupcakes turned out to be extremely moist, spongy and delicious! My dad was so happy! I topped my cupcakes with Green Tea Cream Cheese Frostings which of course I left out for my dad’s cupcakes.

Divvies Chocolate Cupcakes

Ingredients

Makes exactly 12 cupcakes

  • 1 1/2 cups cake flour (not self-rising)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups water

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with cupcake liners; set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.
  3. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, mix together oil, vinegar, vanilla, and water until well combined. Add flour mixture to the mixer and mix until smooth, scraping down the sides of the bowl with a spatula as necessary. Batter should look and feel more watery than normal cake batters.
  4. Pour batter into prepared muffin tin, filling each cup 1/2 to 3/4 full. Transfer to oven and bake, rotating pan halfway through cooking, until a cake tester inserted into the center of one of the cupcakes comes out clean, 20 to 25 minutes.
  5. Immediately remove cupcakes from muffin tin and transfer to a wire rack. Let cool completely before frosting.

Green Tea Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 12 ounces or 1-1/2 packages of Philly cream cheese
  • 1/2 stick butter
  • 4 cups sifted powdered sugar
  • 1 tablespoon matcha green tea powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

1. Bring cheese and butter to room temperature by letting it sit out for 1 or 2 hours
2. Sift powdered sugar into a bowl or onto parchment
3. Beat butter and cheese at medium speed until creamy
4. Add half of the sugar, the green tea powder, and the vanilla. Beat until combined.
5. Gradually add remaining sugar (more if you have to) until you get to the consistency and sweetness you like.

Enjoy! xxx

7 thoughts on “Egg-free, butter-free, milk-free Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. That looked absolutely delicious!!! im a novice at cupcake baking. maybe i can try this out. just a question, can i replace the cocoa powder with sweetened cocoa powder? and if i dont have green tea powder, can i just do without it?

  2. Hey Diana, thank you! You too! Keep on baking. 🙂

    Hey Ah Teo, I am sure sweetened cocoa powder is fine, I used to bake with those and found no difference in my cupcakes. And of course you can do without the green tea powder. 🙂

  3. Hey, really nice to find recipes without butter. My boyfriend and his mum can’t stand it, and it will be nice to be able to make them cakes that they can enjoy! Thanks!

  4. I found this recipe when I was searching for no butter cuocakes, I really had a tatse for something sweet but didn’t feel like running to the supermarket to get some butter.

    This recipe is soooo good. I used Almond milk instead of water and it came out fabulous. Thanks!!

  5. I made some ammendments to the recipe (because it was Sunday and I couldnt go out and by the ingredients) I added an egg, used half water half milk and tiny bit cream, didnt use the vinegar, vanilla or the cocoa powder but added blueberries. The result was amazing.

  6. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site
    and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact
    enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing
    to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

Leave a Reply

