Pistachio Cupcakes

pistachio-006

When I was in New York, my favourite cupcake flavour was Pisatchio Cupcakes from Sugar Sweet Sunshine. I loved it mainly because it was Pistachio-flavoured. For some strange reason, I just like Pistachio-flavoured food though not the nut itself. However I was still disappointed with the cupcakes from SSS as it was only subtle flavoured. So recently when I saw Poon Huat selling small bottles of Pistachio Composite, I was wayy too excited. Pistachio Composite is basically concentrated Pistachio paste. I wanted to bake a strong-flavoured Pistachio cupcake. Thus with my Earl Grey Cupcake recipe, I left the Earl Grey out and added in 1 tablespoon of the Pis Composite. The result? I was delighted. I was also extremely glad with how beautiful it rose. Such strong Pistachio flavour. I thoroughly enjoyed every bite of it although my sister took one bite and declared her dislike for Pistachio. My mum, on the other hand, enjoyed it too.

2 thoughts on “Pistachio Cupcakes

    • Here! But replace the tea w Pistachio. 🙂

      1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
      1 cup sugar
      2 egg
      1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
      2 1/4 tsp. baking powder
      3/4 tsp. salt
      1/2 cup milk
      1 tbsp. Earl Grey tea (I used 1 bag and didn’t measure. I might add more next time.)

      Preheat the oven to 350.
      Beat the butter and sugar together until it is light and fluffy.
      Add eggs one at a time, making sure they are thoroughly combined before adding the next one.
      Mix together the dry ingredients, including the tea.
      Beat in half of the dry mixture with the wet, then add the milk and the rest of the dry mixture, stirring until just combined.
      Line the cupcake pan with 12 cups and fill them about two-thirds full. Bake 20 to 25 minutes. Cool thoroughly before frosting.

Leave a Reply

