Coconut Cupcakes for a baby shower

image

On Sunday, my sister held her baby shower and I baked. I am about half in love with Coconut and when my sister requested the cupcakes for Sunday, I rejoiced. I searched around on the internet for a recipe and picked Goddess of Cooking, Martha Stewart. The main reason being the use of coconut milk in her recipe instead of whole milk. Frankly, I do not think shredded coconut is enough to give the cake that coconut taste so when I saw Martha’s use of coconut milk, I knew it was meant to be. The result was a strong, but not overpowering, coconut taste. :))

As it was going to be a baby shower, I also wanted something extra special. So a few months before I bought a silicon mold from eBay to create baby shower-themed fondants as cupcake toppers. Then on Saturday, whilst shopping for groceries, I came across a shop, Shermay’s Cooking School, that sold pretty cupcake liners and bought in two colours. As my fondant was going to be in yellow, I knew I wanted blue and brown cupcake liners. These cupcake liners cost a bomb ($3.95 for 25 pieces) and I probably could have gotten it cheaper on Etsy but I had no time and I loved the colours so much. And after molding out the shapes, I took a fluffy paint brush and dusted it with glistening dust to get that extra shiny effect. I made the fondant a day earlier, left it to dry overnight and right before leaving for the party, I placed them on the frosting.

For the frosting, I used my usual Creamy Vanilla Frosting because its the only frosting that does not have people gasp “so sweet!” .

If I baked this again, I would add more batter into a cup; I’m not a fan of shallow cupcakes.

Coconut Cupcakes (by Martha)
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup packed sweetened shredded coconut
6 ounces (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1 1/3 cups sugar
2 large eggs, plus 2 large egg whites
3/4 cup unsweetened coconut milk
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 1/3 cups large-flake unsweetened coconut

Make cupcakes as directed in Basic Cupcake How-To, adding sweetened coconut to dry ingredients, and using coconut milk and vanilla for wet ingredients. Once cupcakes are cool, mound frosting on tops. Sprinkle with unsweetened coconut. Serve immediately.

image

(Baked cupakes left out for cooling)

image

image

(Cupcakes that fill up the whole liner look prettier)

image

(Stock fondant – love it!)

image

image

image

(Cupcakes for Russell!)

Leave a Reply

