The Past Weekend

How was your weekend? Aside from a cough and sore throat, mine was, again, great, and I only hoped for a longer weekend. On Friday night, my parents left me to decide our weekly Saturday family dinner, and the thought of battling the crowds scared me (for some strange reason) so I suggested dinner at home. There were two dishes I really had to make to get it out of my system: Korean Seafood Pancake and a Lamb Meatball Egg Tagine from Saveur magazine. I was delighted my family were game for it. My sister also prepared two delicious salad. Spending Saturday night in was a good choice. Dinner at home was great, my family enjoyed my food, and with the air conditioning cranked up, we chilled around afterwards playing with my nephew. I also presented my nephew with his First Birthday gift since I will be away during his entire birthday week.

Lamb Meatball and Egg Tagine, Korean Seafood Pancake.

20130701-081828.jpgThe Korean Seafood Pancake turned out to be a hulk! My parents bought from the supermarket tons of seafood and health-consious-me used more spring onions. At first it was fun then the time for flipping the pancake came along. It took two people to place a plate over the pan and flipped the whole pan, with precious egg spilling out. I was just relieved to find the whole pancake intact and didn’t fall apart.  Below, is a picture of how thick the pancake became which satisfied my family.

20130701-081834.jpgI knew for my nephew’s first Birthday I had to get him a book. My sister loves to read and before he was born, my sister requested we each give a book during her baby shower; so that he can read in future. While going through the usual round on the internet, I came across a blogger whose sons were reading books personalized with their names. I was instantly sold! It couldn’t have been more perfect for my nephew; a book with his name printed on it! And the fact that it was a small independant project started by three fathers and an uncle, was an even bigger bonus. I quickly keyed in my nephew’s name, made payment, and patiently waited. A couple of weeks later, it arrived! The timing was again perfect and on the perfect Saturday evening, I presented it to nephew. Although it was more like my sister and brother-in-law seeing as how my nephew wont be able to understand it for now. They loved it and I couldn’t be more pleased.

20130701-081842.jpg20130701-081847.jpg

Sunday swiftly arrived and once again my family gathered for more food. Dim Sum at the country club this time. We scored a table by the big windows and had a priceless view of the golf course. I wore my new top! Bought the day I got my allowance. It is structured, blue, and I love it!

20130701-081852.jpgThe Dim Sum was alright, not the best but the service, atmosphere and company more than made up for it. I especially enjoyed how the restaurant has to be booked in advance and walk-ins are generally not allowed so we languished away the afternoon in peace and without the stress of having to quickly give up the table for other patrons.

20130701-081857.jpg20130701-081903.jpg

Oh, the last dish that arrived on our table and took the longest time ever was the Crispy Noodle with a Pork Neck and bittergourd gravy was the  highlight of the meal. With its thinner-than-usual, deep-fried, and slightly charred noodles with the thin, tender pork neck, it was a delightful surprise.

20130701-081912.jpg

Leave a Reply

