Roasted Blueberries Cheesecake

20131109-151010.jpg

This recipe had been on my mind for weeks before I first executed it. I found roasting fruits gave extra depth to a flavour. I tried once with strawberries but the cake turned out to be too dry as I did not include in the natural roasting juices. I never gave up the thought of roasting fruits and a thought struck me one day that a Roasted Blueberries Cheesecake sounded delightful! Blueberries, I thought, would give a beautiful deep purple to a canvas white cheesecake. When it came to a recipe for cheesecake, I looked no further than Joy of Baking. A no-bake cheesecake recipe I tried twice before and received favourable comments. My only dilemma was whether the roasted blueberries would be placed on top of the cheesecake after it set or in between the cheese and biscuit base. In the end, I choose the former. On my first attempt, I used a box of blueberries which, as can be seen from above, wholly inadequate. On the second time, I used two boxes and the cake was wholly covered. I forgot to take a picture during that attempt. But this now leaves me ample opportunities to make another; never a dull moment. Twice I prepared this cake, twice I received rave reviews. My sister even asked where I bought the cake. I learnt on the second time that washing but not drying the blueberries before baking leads to extra caramelisation and more thick juices could be collected. Hence I highly recommend this method.

Roasted Berries

2 boxes blueberries

3 teaspoons granulated sugar

To serve: Preheat oven to 180°C. Wash blueberries and drain, but not dry out the berries. Place blueberries in a heatproof, shallow roasting dish and sprinkle with the sugar. Roast in oven for 12 to 15 minutes, rolling around once or twice during cooking time to ensure they roast evenly. The goal is not to let the blueberries fully slump or turn to sauce; you just want a little trickle of juices puddled across in the bottom. Leave aside to cool. The berries juice should be thick and the berries shiny.

No Bake Cheesecake (from JoyofBaking)

Biscuit Crust:

1 1/2 cups (150 grams) digestive biscuits, crushed

2 tablespoons (30 grams) granulated caster sugar

6 tablespoons (85 grams) unsalted butter, melted

Mix all ingredients together and pat it down to the bottom of a parchment paper-lined spring form tin. Refrigerate while making the cheesecake filing.

Cheesecake Filling:

One 8-ounce (227 grams) cream cheese, at room temperature

1/4 cup (50 grams) granulated caster sugar

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 cup (240 ml) heavy whipping cream (contains 36-40% butterfat), cold (I used 200ml and it was still good)

Place bowl and whisk in the freezer for 10-15 mins. Then remove and whisk fridge-cold heavy cream till soft peaks form, and set aside. Clean out bowl and using paddle attachment, beat the cream cheese and sugar until smooth, light and fluffy. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and beat in the vanilla extract. Gradually fold or beat the whipped cream into the cream cheese mixture. Pour the filling over the chilled biscuit crust and smooth the top. Cover and place in the refrigerator for a for several hours, or even overnight.

Before serving, spoon cooled roasted blueberries onto the cheesecake and serve.

One thought on “Roasted Blueberries Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

