A Revelation In Maison Ikkoku

Last night saw my girl friend, Kim, and I make a spontaneous trip to Maison Ikkuko on 20 Kandahr Street for some bespoke cocktails. We had two cocktails but one of them turned out to be revelation for both of us. Our initial plan was to attend a Brazilian Music party but it was so quiet, we bolted without even walking onto the dancefloor. Luckily we were in Arab Street and in recent years the area has become so exciting. There were many many al fresco bars and a few more pricey bespoke cocktails bars. Kim and I walked up and down Haji Lane which was filled with the alfresco bars but none tickled our fancies. My first choice was Bar Stories on Haji Lane but on the second level. It was full so we decided to try our luck with Maison and we were very lucky. Not only did we secure counter seats within minutes, we also had the most deceivingly potent cocktails ever! Sitting at the counter was great too as it was stocked with the widest array of spirits, blends, and fruits in every form. I spotted mason jars labelled “Truffle Whiskey” and Truffle Cognac”. It took me a while to take everything in.

For the cocktails, we ordered two. First up, we requested for a sour and no sugar concoction. And what arrived was a dark purple blend with shards of ice cubes: Blackberry, Lemon, Italian Hazelnut, and Vodka. When sipped, there were lemon peels underneath the ice and every sip saw us chewing a lemon peel. Flavour wise, it was alright. Not particularly sour but it was still quite appetizing and did not taste very alcoholic so my friend and I had a good time drinking it. We decided to order another.

20140301-111722.jpg

This time we wanted something very different and ordered a spicy, no sugar combination. When the drink arrived, it looked very inviting with it’s bright pink with a raspberry floating on top. It was a Raspberry, Italian Almond, Vodka and Jalepeno concoction! On first sip, the spiciness hit me like a slap on the cheeks. It shook me! I was not expecting the strong spiciness but I loved it. The almond flavour was discernible and subtle and there were hints of raspberry undertones. Kim and I had a good time with this drink. I wonder why spicy cocktails have never occurred to me before when I love spicy food?!

20140301-111729.jpg

20140301-111744.jpg
The Bartender was also very friendly.

20140301-111752.jpg
The alcohol was not strong to us at first but after the two drinks, we were both very red and happy high!

20140301-111712.jpg

I read on the internet some really interesting combination such as Banana Surprise and Jalepeno Sour. I shall go back one day and ask for a Peanut Butter and Jam combination. The best cocktail I ever had was a Peanut Butter concoction from Bar Stories. Still, Maison Ikkodu made for us a wonderful Friday evening.

Leave a Reply

