Monthly Cookout: April Edition 2014

The past weekend saw the April Edition of the Monthly Cookout. Every cookout there is always good food but it is always the company that lights up my entire weekend. All my friends who participate in the cookout are at least two years older than me. Not much but they each have a wealth of experience in life and with theire advice and personal journeys, life is much easier and secure. I feel more at ease with them calming me ensuring all is good and not as complicated as it all initially seems to be.

Surprisingly, this month, the food variety was light but not short of deliciousness. Zee’s husband, Marcus, desmontrated his strength in roasting meat by serving up a slow-cooked pork belly. The pork belly was seasoned with tahini. While Western, it still tasted of Chinese. The 3.5 hours roasting caused some seriously crispy crackling that snapped and crackled loudly in my mouth; much to the excitement of many who wanted exactly whatever I was chewing.

20140413-172334.jpg

Three desserts were offered that afternoon. Zhu brought a box of “light donuts” which turned out to be the famous Cronut-inspired Crodos that were clearly lightly deep-fried. My sister made mini Orange Olive Oil babycakes, and I prepared my very own Pulut Hitam (Black Glutinous Rice) Steamed Pudding with Gula Melaka Butterscotch Sauce. Western technique, Asian ingredients – now that’s what I call F.U.S.I.O.N.

20140413-172346.jpg

My steamed pudding was a huge hit that afternoon and I could not be more delighted. The pud was extremely flavourful, and tender and moist – just how I wanted it to be. Not only was this pud my own recipe but it took a lot of effort just to prepare this seemingly-simple dessert. I brainstormed and researched a full week for the best technique to suit the Asian ingredients. I even gave up drinking last Friday evening just to ensure I will be all lemony fresh on Saturday morning to prepare the pud for the afternoon. What a triumph! Now I just need to find the recipe and post it up here.
20140413-172357.jpg

Leave a Reply

