Triple-layered Guacamole Dip; versatile and perfect for feeding the masses!

20140716-103129-37889261.jpg

A couple of months back, I threw a Barbecue party for my colleagues so this post is a tad late but still better late than never because this recipe/ idea is wonderful for dinner parties. I just had to share it to spread the joy. For the party, although my kind colleagues volunteered to help me out with the food and beverages, I am one of those paranoid hosts who hates my guests leaving my house hungry so I had to think of a dish that would be delicious, require little effort and be able to feed a lot of people at the same time. When one of my colleague volunteered to bring chips, I knew I had to make my famed guacamole and fruit salsa dips. Dips + chips + BBQ = PERFECTION!

The ADD-me felt serving up bowls of dip and salsa again was so boring! But thanks to Tastespotting, I came across this big beautiful bowl of Triple Layer Guacamole Creamy Cotija and Confetti Salsa Party Dip by Soupaddict. It was colourful, unusual (at least in Singapore), and looked like a lot – perfect for impressing and feeding the masses! However when I read the recipe carefully, I knew it wasn’t for me. I already have an ultra reliable Guacamole recipe thanks to Alton Brown. Plus where was I going to find cotija in an Asian country? And it sounded fattening too! Plus the salsa right on top, given the tomatoes in the guacamole, would be a little too-tomatoey. In the end, this was how my triple layered dip went down: Alton Brown’s Guacamole topped with a Greek Yoghurt spread then topped a Mango Red Pepper Salsa Dip.

See the magic of this dish?! Just pull together three random recipes of your choice, stack it on top of each other in the morning of the party, WAH LA! The most perfect dinner party dish ever! After you leave this in the fridge, you can go about your day preparing your place for the party. When your guests and more importantly chips arrive, pull it out of the fridge and serve a humongous bowl of chips at the side. I swear you will only hear “oohhs” and “ahhs” from your guests. This is both impressive and delicious! Continue reading to get my recipes!

    Alton Brown’s Guacamole Recipe

3 Haas avocados, halved, seeded and peeled
1-2 good quality lime, juiced (I used Australian seedless lime from Fairprice. Expensive but so worth it!)
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon cayenne
1/2 medium onion, diced
1/2 jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced
2 Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
1 tablespoon chopped cilantro
1 clove garlic, minced

Directions
In a large bowl place the scooped avocado pulp and lime juice, toss to coat. Drain, and reserve the lime juice, after all of the avocados have been coated. Using a potato masher add the salt, cumin, and cayenne and mash. Then, fold in the onions, jalapeno, tomatoes, cilantro, and garlic. Add 1 tablespoon of the reserved lime juice. Let sit at room temperature for 1 hour and then serve.

Creamy Greek Yoghurt Spread
1 cup Greek Yoghurt
1 tablespoon lime juice
tablespoon minced cilantro
1 pinch of salt (optional)

Directions

Place the greek yoghurt and lime juice in a medium mixing bowl until mostly smooth. Stir in the cilantro, and taste. Add a pinch of salt, if necessary.

Mango Red Pepper Salsa

1 large red bell pepper, diced
1 large ripe mango or 2 small ripe mangoes
3 tablespoons small dice red onions
1/2 fresh lime, juice only
1 big squeeze fresh lemon juice
2 tablespoons minced cilantro
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl and let rest for several minutes.

Assemble
  1. Layer the guacamole in the bottom of a glass serving bowl and smooth out. For an attractive presentation against the glass, press the guacamole against it so there are no air pockets. Spread the greek yoghurt spread on top of the guacamole (ditto with pressing it against the glass).
  2. Drain the mango red pepper salsa, and spoon it on top of the creamy greek yoghurt spread to cover. Serve with tortilla chips.
Leave a Reply

