The Weekend of Good Films

Grand budapestHow was your weekend? I was at home relaxing and lazing around for most parts. However it was not a wasted weekend as I rented two movies and watched both on each day; The Grand Budapest Hotel, and The Monuments Men. Both were very very good. My Mum and I specially rented Wes Anderson’s latest film; she had not watched it before and was very keen after hearing good reviews. Despite my second time, I am happy to write that it was still as good as my first time. I felt the same merriment from the quirky film with its whimsical music and beautiful costumes! The Zubrowka Policeman’s grey uniform is still my favourite of them all.   grand-budapest-hotel-edward-norton-1And of course, this delicious scene was my favourite. 🙂

pastriesthe-monuments-men-uk-quad-poster

The Monuments Men was surprisingly captivating and now I regret not watching it in the cinema. I really should not have trusted the poor reviews. The film follows an allied army group nicknamed the “Monuments Men”, who were tasked with finding and saving pieces of art and other culturally important items before their destruction by the Nazis then later the Soviets during World War II. Watch them run around most of Europe risking their lives to protect the art from being taken away, figure out the ingenious hiding places, and at the same time having to beat the Soviets who wanted the precious art as reparations for having lost 20 million soldiers. I thoroughly enjoyed the film and was profoundly affected by the last-ditched efforts of the SS officers to destroy the art work when Germany surrended!

The film is loosely based on a non-fictional book but did you know the movie is almost true to the real life? There is a National Geographic documentary on the true story with scene from the movie and interviews by George Clooney and Matt Damon as well! Do watch Hunting Hitlers Stolen Treasures: The Monuments Men below, if you are as obsessed as me!

For my family’s usual Sunday lunch, we took away hawker food for home. This was a wise choice as the weather that afternoon was unbearably warm and humid. My sister went to Shufu Road Market and Food Centre and got us delicious Fried Hokkien Noodles and a trio of traditonal Cantonese roast meat: duck, pork belly and char siew. The Hokkien Mee, a dish of egg noodles and rice noodles in a fragrant prawn stock with the addition of shrimps, squid, and pork, was so satisfying! I had plates of it. The Roast Duck, from Fu Shi Traditional Roasted, was delicious with it’s crispy fatty skin. My Mum went to Toa Payoh and got us the famous Carrot Cake. It was cold by lunch but it was still tasty. 🙂

20140721-132427-48267627.jpg

On another note, have you given out Almond Milk as gifts?

20140721-132428-48268477.jpg

Well last week I did. I got the new The Dark Knight Nut Mylk from Daily Juice Singapore and the usual Nut Mylk for my Mum. Both recipients thoroughly enjoyed my gifts. Did you know Almond is high in magnesium and is great for insomnia? No wonder I usually feel so drowsy after drinking a whole big bottle (500ml) of it. 🙂

That’s all from me today. Hope you had a good, relaxing and educational weekend too!

Leave a Reply

