Lunch at Artisan Boulangerie Co., Asia Square Tower

This afternoon, I had an unusually heavy but immensely satisfying lunch. It was a tough morning. Back-to-back client meetings followed by back-to-back internal meetings. All these before 12 p.m. By then, my emotional and sugar levels were at an all-time low. I would have gone for my usual fruit lunch but I NEEDED something to cheer me up. Thank goodness, even at the last minute notice, one of my best pal and colleague was availabel and ready for some good food!

I was craving for Artisan Boulangerie. Ever sinceΒ my first amazing brunch at their Great World City branch, I have been dreaming about returning for the Egg Mayo Sandwich. When their Asia Square Tower 2 branch opened, I knew I had to get my grubby little hands on it. This afternoon was the time. It was the only thing that was going to lift my spirits up from that single tough meeting with a Partner this morning. The Egg Mayo was going to rescue my emotions. I was sure of it.

Except it did not.

My pal got the Portobello Mushroom & Feta, Portobello, capsicum, caramelized onions, alfafa sprouts, tomato pesto & feta. I got my Egg Mayo, Chopped boiled eggs, mustard, mayonnaise & alfafa sprouts. Requesting for them to be toasted was mandatory. There was no doubt the hot bread was comfortable and delicous with its fluffy texture. However it was the underseasoned creamy egg mayo that failed to satisfy. It was lacklustre but a good dashing of Tabasco Pepper sauce and grounded black pepper measurably spruced things up.

20140805-143350-52430060.jpg

My pal got the Mushroom Soup too. It was so inviting and decadent in its Lion Head soup bowl. She enjoyed it. I did not get a soup because I had other plans.

20140805-143350-52430979.jpg

This! Linzer Torte, sweet and tart raspberry filling atop a short nut pastry. To be honest, it was the lattice design that first got me. But that pastry turned out to be quite something. Buttery, crunchy and crumbly; it danced in my mouth.Β  Get this torte REALLY toasted up. Like so hot, the raspberry filling is literally BUBBLING. I promise you, it makes a huge difference and might even change your life!

20140805-143351-52431701.jpg

It did for me.

Leave a Reply

