Tea and Scones @ the V&A Cafe, Victoria & Albert Musuem, London

IMG_4986.JPG

Can you guys believe I am not done with posting on my epic trip to Europe more than two weeks ago?! I did and ate so much that I must tell you all about it.

A musuem cafe was the last place on earth I would expect to find decent food. Maybe it’s because I can’t fathom making a trip to any Singapore musuems so as to check out their cafes (if there is even any). The last time I ate in a Singapore musuem was when the flea-market, Public Garden, was held in the National Musuem and I scored myself a cupcake from Vanilla Bakery. Hence my one and only afternoon tea experience at theย Victoria & Albert Musuem in South Kensington blew me away, and since then has forever changed my impression of musuems.

I really tried to go cultural in London. A city filled with renowned museums containing world-famous exhibitions, I was very keen on visiting one in particular at the V&A: Wedding Dresses 1775-2014. My girl friend was more than happy to accompany me and catch up at the same time.

But she suggested we start with the Scones at the V&A Cafe. My hopes were not high but when she came back to our table armed with the most beautiful printed-tray, I was in awe and knew right away it was going to be a good afternoon tea!

IMG_4974.JPG

As if things couldn’t be more delightful at this point; MATCHING printed-paper cups. Isn’t this one of the prettiest paper cup you have ever seen?! It totally made the Chamomile Tea so much more special.

IMG_4980.JPG

I was also impressed with the huge scone. It was on steroids; as big as my palm. The moist doughy raisin scone was uplifted with traditional clotted cream and sweet strawberry jam from a tiny Wilkinson & Sons jam pot. My girl friend and I certainly did not held back and slathered on all of the cream. It was delicious!

The Cafe was also pretty amazing. To begin with, my jaw dropped when I walked in and saw where we were having simple scones.

IMG_4972.JPG

Isn’t this one of the beautiful space to enjoy a hot tea in the chilly London weather?

My girl friend went to pick up our tea and scones while I dutifully “choped” for us seats. Except I couldn’t sit for long and minutes later, I was on my feet exploring… The food area was HUGE. There were like three sections. One for sandwiches and savouries, and another just dedicated to sweet treats.

IMG_4973.JPG

See more pictures of the cafe here! I was also so grateful for the complimentary water.

Then I had to visit the Ladies and it was all vintage and again prettyyyyyy.

IMG_4985.JPG

A gorgeous musuem filled with the prettiest of things, the V&A Musuem was a highlight of my trip. I may not had an all-out Afternoon Tea with tier-ed trays and finger sandwiches but this scone satisfied my craving for one.

In the end, we had such a comfortable time sitting and chatting at the cafe that we had to dash off to Gold Mine for dinner and never made it to the exhibition. >_<

If you fancy an afternoon tea at the Musuem, or just want to swoon at pretty things, find more details about the Cafe here!

Leave a Reply

