Club Meatballs: The Best Is Yet To Be

IMG_6153.JPG

I so wanted to like this new place opened by the same folks behind Sarnies and Lokal. Club Meatball had everything going for them! Specializing in meatballs (I was dreaming of huge juicy meat monsters like those from The Meatball Shop in NYC), uber chic interior and I repeat, the SAME folks behind SARNIES! You know Sarnies, the little joint on Telok Ayer Street serving up god-amazing salads and sandwiches. I am an unabashed slave to Sarnies. Each and every visit, I will leave stuffed but craving for more. I already know what to order on my next visit. Now, just thinking about their home-made bread and Paleo Salad makes me salivate.

But revelation or an awe-inducing experience was not felt during my lunch today at Club Meatballs. I left disappointed althought not defeated.

Let’s start with the good. The interior predominately blue. My favourite colour. Hello CHIC!

IMG_6144.JPG

And this little corner, I can so see myself dashing here after work to r.e.l.a.x.

IMG_6142.JPG

I loved the wooden tables, comfortable chairs and cutlery holder.

IMG_6146.JPG

Then it was time to make our food orders and my disappointment began. So either pick a Sub (sandwich) or Salad. Let’s pimp it! The Salad concept here is to first choose a protein, then a carbohydrate, greens and/or sides, and finally choose from five different dressings. Sounds familiar? Yeah, I am thinking of The Salad Corner too. Snooze-fest concept.

IMG_6145.JPG

I quickly forgot about the unoriginal concept when our food arrived because there was something lacking…Β 

I had the Pork & Fennel Balls, Mixed greens, Smashed Avocado, Sauteed Mushrooms, and for my dressing: Sundried Tomatoes, Capers, Olives & Caramelised Onions.

My friend had the Wagyu & Rosemary Balls (came highly recommended), Smashed Avocado, Mixed greens, and for his dressing: Salsa Verde.Β 

IMG_6150.JPG

First of all, four small meatballs for $6?! You have got to be kidding with me.

Which wouldn’t be so bad if not for the dry and stodgy balls! It literally was begging for an egg or panko crumbs for some moisture and bounciness. I craved for liquid after every bite.

The $2.50 sauteed mushrooms was just that. Tender mushrooms devoid of excitement.

The only redeeming element on my plate was the uber-appetizing Sundried Tomatoes, Capers, Olives & Caramelised Onions dressing. This was a bright spark and gave me an insight into Club Meatball’s potential.

IMG_6147.JPG

My friend’s Wagyu & Rosemary Ball (I had one!) was pink and nice. Looked good but man, was it ANOTHER dry meatball.Β 

The Salsa Verde was just … green and forgettable.

IMG_6152.JPG

Apparently, today was their first day of their lunch-business so I am not going to write off Club Meatballs so soon. Much more improvements will be expected in the coming weeks. I will return for I could never say no to meatballs. But for now, I am going to stick to Sarnies.

Leave a Reply

