[New York] Wolfgang’s Steakhouse: Bacon for Appetizer, Steak for Main Course

Not to be confused with Wolfgang Puck, Wolfgang’s Steakhouse was opened by Wolfgang Zwiener, a former headwaiter at Peter Luger for over 40 years. There may be 12 locations of the steakhouse around the world but Wolfgang’s ain’t no chain. Its’ quality is evidenced by its repeated appearances on Best Steakhouses in New York lists. When the same friend, who insisted I visit Takashi Ramen, insisted yet again I get my New York-steak fix from Wolfgang’s, I did not hesitate to suss out the locations in Manhattan.

On my last evening in New York and after a fantastic Broadway show, Kinky Boots, I walked a couple of blocks down to their Time Square branch. This branch was located next to The New York Times office. At 11pm, a table (or tables) was available for me. Restaurants in New York City open till late. Very nice.

IMG_4398

Wolfgang’s Steakhouse ticks all the boxes for a great steakhouse.

First there was a bountiful bread basket served almost immediately after my order was taken:

Second Wolfgang’s offers an outrageous number of choices for appetizers and sides. But this lone diner only one had thing in mind: #meaticide. Accordingly my late-night dinner had to begin with an order of their legendary Sizzling Canadian Bacon (extra thick, by the slice) for US$6.95.

Tasting more like smoked ham than bacon, this was good.

Third, another evidence of a great steakhouse, is all meat in Wolfgang’s are presented austerely on a white plate. As if they were sacred. Nothing should deflect attention from the poor animal who died for a good cause.

When it arrived, the pièce de résistance, a 16 oz. Ribeye Steak (US$53.95), was bigger than my face and sat handsomely on the pristine white plate. The handsome dry-aged beast looked burnt with its blackened areas. This was no doubt caused from an ultra-high heat to ensure maximum caramelization. And of course, seasoned heavily with salt. The smoky crust and tender meat exuding rich beefiness was a force to be reckoned with.

It was perfectly pinkish red when sliced in. 

Here at Wolfgang’s, no condiments are necessary for no mustard or ketchup was served alongside. Not that I missed it at all. However they did serve their signature Old-Fashioned Sauce. I wasn’t told what to do with it but halfway through I poured some out for the steak. Subtly sweet with a touch of tanginess paired with the beefy goodness; perfection.  

Wolfgang’s steak was exactly how I envisioned a great American steak to be. Not the tragic piece I had recently. Right there and then, I considered being able to afford this one of the proudest moment of my life. As I finished the meat and my knife hit the bone, shit hit home. I just sat down and gobbled up a 500g piece of steak. F***k! I can really eat. My body clock may not have gotten over the jet-lagged even after a week in the city but my appetite had sure acclimatized to the American portions!!!

With the attentive warm service, Wolfgang’s was the perfect last dinner on my wonderful trip.

Wolfgang’s Steakhouse
Times Square, NYC
250 West 41st Street
New York, NY 10036
Tel: (212) 921-3720
Sun-Thu: 12pm-11:00pm
Fri-Sat: 12pm – Midnight

Leave a Reply

